Calendar

Nov
5
Sat
2011
POP – Little Rock, AR @ University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Nov 5 @ 9:00 am – 3:30 pm

General Information

Date: November 5th, 2011, 9 am – 3:30 pm
Location: University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Stephens Spine Institute
Students: 28 students from 6 high schools in Little Rock area
Collaborators: UAMS Graduate School & Women’s Foundation of Arkansas
Event Sponsor: Wright Medical Technology, Inc.

 

Workshops

Morning Workshops (#2) Distal Tibia Fracture Repair
(N/A) Anatomical Dissection: Arm & Leg
(N/A) Casting of the forearm
Afternoon Workshops (#8) Femur Ex-Fix
(#11) Design a IM Nail
(#14) Knee Ligaments

 

Faculty

Name Affiliation
Ruth Thomas, MD UAMS Dept Orthopaedic Surgery
Dana Gaddy, PhD UAMS Graduate School & Dept Orthopaedic Surgery
Theresa Wyrick, MD UAMS Dept Orthopaedic Surgery
CJ Vadala, MD PGY3 UAMS Dept Orthopaedic Surgery
Laurie Hughes, MD UAMS Dept Orthopaedic Surgery
Nidhal Bouaynaya, PhD Univ Arkansas Little Rock, Electrical Engineering
Jenni Buckley, PhD Perry Initiative & University of Delaware
Lynnette Hammons Watts Women’s Foundation of Arkansas
Karen Seale, MD UAMS Dept Orthopaedic Surgery

 

Volunteers

Name Affiliation Contact
Annie Biggs Sanger University of Delaware, Bioengineering, & Perry Initiative sangera@perryinitiative.org
Allison Pierce UAMS Medical School acpierce@uams.edu
Whitney Guerrero UAMS Medical School wmguerrero@uams.edu
Esther Pace UAMS Medical School egpace@uams.edu
Sarenthia McClelland UAMS Medical School smcclelland@uams.edu

 

Photo Archives

More photos available on The Perry Initiative’s Facebook page.

 

Video Archives

More videos are available on The Perry Initiative’s YouTube channel.

Apr
12
Fri
2013
MSOP – Philadelphia, Pennsylvania @ Univ Pennsylvania Medical Center Campus
Apr 12 @ 9:00 pm – Apr 13 @ 12:00 am

General Information

Date: April 12, 2013 5 pm – 8 pm
Location: University of Pennsylvania Medical Center
Students: 29 students from 5 medical schools (UPenn, Jefferson, Temple, Penn State and NJUMD)
Event Sponsors: Ruth Jackson Orthopaedic Society

Workshops

Lectures Orthopaedics as a career for women: Dr. Lattanza
Pathway to becoming an orthopaedic surgeon: Dr. Hammoud
Fellowships and Subspecialties: Dr. Horstmann
Workshops (#11) Femoral IM Nail
(#8) Tibia Ex-Fix

 

Faculty

Name Affiliation
Helen Horstmann, MD University of Pennsylvania, Dept Orthopaedics
Sommer Hammoud, MD Thomas Jefferson University, Dept Orthopaedics
Lisa Lattanza, MD University of California San Francisco, Dept Orthopaedics
Jenni Buckley, PhD University of Delaware, Dept Mechanical Engineering

 

Volunteers

Name Affiliation Contact
Anne Colten, MD Private Practice orthosports31@gmail.com
Barbara Frieman, MD Rothman Institute barbara.frieman@rothmaninstitute.com
Julie Shaner, MD Thomas Jefferson University jlshaner@gmail.com
Mara Schenker, MD University of Pennsylvania, Medical School Mara.Schenker@uphs.upenn.edu
Amy Bucha University of Delaware, Dept Mechanical Engineering abucha@perryinitiative.org
Eli Gorman University of Delaware, Dept Mechanical Engineering eagorman@udel.edu
Kate Ordemann University of Delaware, Dept Mechanical Engineering kateko@udel.edu
Rebecca Runkle University of Delaware, Dept Mechanical Engineering rrunkle@udel.edu
Annie Biggs Sanger University of Delaware, Dept Biomedical Engineering absanger@udel.edu

 

Photo Archives

More photos available on The Perry Initiative’s Facebook page.