Calendar

Jun
18
Sat
2011
POP – Spokane, WA @ Shriners Hospital for Children
Jun 18 @ 9:00 am – 3:30 pm

 

General Information

Date: June 18th, 9 am – 3:30 pm
Location: Shriners Hospitals for Children, Spokane, Washington
Students: 25 students from 2 high schools in the Greater Spokane Area
Event Sponsor: Pacific Research Laboratories / Sawbones

 

Workshops

Morning Workshops (#15) Lumbar Fusion
(#8) Long bone ex-fix
(#4) Scoliosis
Afternoon Workshops (#17) Olecranon Fracture
(#6) Rotator Cuff
(#14) Knee Ligaments

 

Faculty Speakers

Name Affiliation Contact
Jenni Buckley, PhD St. Mary’s Medical Center & UC San Francisco buckleyj@perryinitiative.org
Amy Johnson Pacific Research Labs (Sawbones) amy@pacific-research.com
Deborah Vermaire, MD Shriners Hospitals for Children – Spokane

 

Volunteers

Name Affiliation Contact
Nadia Majlessi St. Mary’s Medical Center nmajlessi@taylorcollaboration.org
Sylvia Oliver Washington State University olivers@wsu.edu
Louise Fix Gonzaga University fixschultz@earthlink.net
Chelsea Stone Washington State University chelseastone18@gmail.com
Raeleen Epperson Mead High School repperso@mead.k12.wa.us
Andrea Steinbach Washington State University andrea.steinbach@email.wsu.edu
Ashley Nygreen Washington State University ashgreen_10@hotmail.com
Kristin Monasmith Shriners Hospital – Spokane KMonasmith@shrinenet.org
Sally Mildren Shriners Hospital – Spokane SMildren@shrinenet.org
John Stone Community supporter john.stone@pearlabrasive.com

 

Photo Archives

Coming soon!

 

Video Archives

Oct
15
Sat
2011
POP – New Port Richey, FL @ Medical Center of Trinity
Oct 15 @ 9:00 am – 3:30 pm

General Information

Date: October 15th, 9 am – 3:30 pm
Location: Medical Center of Trinity
Students: 29 students from 4 high schools in New Port Richey area and 2 high schools near Sarasota
Event Sponsor: Women Orthopaedists Global Outreach (WOGO)

 

Workshops

Morning Workshops (#7) Suturing
(#3) Shoulder Repair
(#4) Scoliosis
Afternoon Workshops (#8) Tib/Fib Ex-Fix
(#10) Design a TFN
(#17) Olecranon Fracture

 

Faculty

Name Affiliation Contact
Jen Cook, MD WOGO & Community Hospital www.drjennifercook.com
Meredith May, MS Atlas Spine & Empirical Testing Corporation meredithmay@yahoo.com
Mychelle Shegog, MD WOGO & Kaiser Permanente
Rinelda Horton, MD WOGO & Kaiser Permanente
Jenni Buckley, PhD Perry Initiative & University of Delaware buckleyj@perryinitiative.org

 

Volunteers

Name Affiliation Contact
Susan Morgan WOGO
Jaclyn Tyo WOGO
Vandana Patel WOGO
Madison DeFrank Perry Initiative & University of Delaware madisond@perryinitiative.org
Kathy Trapp Gulf High School
Beth Bruegger Pasco School District
Sally Jamiel Community Hospital
Gail Parsons Project Lead The Way

 

Photo Archives

More photos available on The Perry Initiative’s Facebook page.

 

Video Archives

More videos are available on The Perry Initiative’s YouTube channel.

Apr
12
Fri
2013
MSOP – Philadelphia, Pennsylvania @ Univ Pennsylvania Medical Center Campus
Apr 12 @ 9:00 pm – Apr 13 @ 12:00 am

General Information

Date: April 12, 2013 5 pm – 8 pm
Location: University of Pennsylvania Medical Center
Students: 29 students from 5 medical schools (UPenn, Jefferson, Temple, Penn State and NJUMD)
Event Sponsors: Ruth Jackson Orthopaedic Society

Workshops

Lectures Orthopaedics as a career for women: Dr. Lattanza
Pathway to becoming an orthopaedic surgeon: Dr. Hammoud
Fellowships and Subspecialties: Dr. Horstmann
Workshops (#11) Femoral IM Nail
(#8) Tibia Ex-Fix

 

Faculty

Name Affiliation
Helen Horstmann, MD University of Pennsylvania, Dept Orthopaedics
Sommer Hammoud, MD Thomas Jefferson University, Dept Orthopaedics
Lisa Lattanza, MD University of California San Francisco, Dept Orthopaedics
Jenni Buckley, PhD University of Delaware, Dept Mechanical Engineering

 

Volunteers

Name Affiliation Contact
Anne Colten, MD Private Practice orthosports31@gmail.com
Barbara Frieman, MD Rothman Institute barbara.frieman@rothmaninstitute.com
Julie Shaner, MD Thomas Jefferson University jlshaner@gmail.com
Mara Schenker, MD University of Pennsylvania, Medical School Mara.Schenker@uphs.upenn.edu
Amy Bucha University of Delaware, Dept Mechanical Engineering abucha@perryinitiative.org
Eli Gorman University of Delaware, Dept Mechanical Engineering eagorman@udel.edu
Kate Ordemann University of Delaware, Dept Mechanical Engineering kateko@udel.edu
Rebecca Runkle University of Delaware, Dept Mechanical Engineering rrunkle@udel.edu
Annie Biggs Sanger University of Delaware, Dept Biomedical Engineering absanger@udel.edu

 

Photo Archives

More photos available on The Perry Initiative’s Facebook page.