Calendar

Jun
5
Sat
2010
POP – Wilmington, DE @ Conrad Schools of Science
Jun 5 all-day

A Perry Outreach Program was held in June 2010 at Conrad Schools of Science in Newport, Delaware.

21 students from the Red Clay Consolidated School District participated in the program.

Faculty from University of Delaware, University of Pennsylvania, and Nemours/AI Dupont Hospital for Children spoke at the event, and staff and students from these institutions served as volunteers.

Aug
6
Sat
2011
POP – Delaware @ Conrad Schools of Science
Aug 6 @ 9:00 am – 3:30 pm

General Information

Date: August 6th, 9 am – 3:30 pm

Location: Conrad Schools of Science
Students: 29 students from 9 high schools in Delaware & Pennsylvania
Event Sponsor: Stryker Corporation
Event Hosts: University of Delaware & Red Clay Consolidated School District

 

Workshops

Morning Workshops (#3) Shoulder Fracture
(#6) Rotator Cuff
(#4) Scoliosis
Afternoon Workshops (#17) Olecranon Fracture
(#14) Knee Ligaments
(#8) Tibia External Fixator

 

Faculty Speakers

Name Affiliation Contact
Lynn Snyder-Mackler, PT, PhD University of Delaware, Dept. Physical Therapy smack@udel.edu
Jill Startzell-Higginson, PhD University of Delaware, Dept. Mechanical Engineering & Biomedical Engineering higginso@udel.edu
Jenni Buckley, PhD University of Delaware, Dept. Mechanical Engineering & The Perry Initiative buckleyj@perryinitiative.org
Martha Murray, MD Children’s Hospital Boston
Jennifer Ty, MD Nemours/AI DuPont Hospital for Children

 

Volunteers

Name Affiliation Contact
Amber Collins, PhD University of Delaware collins.at@gmail.com
Becca Buchanan University of Delaware rrb@udel.edu
Kris Miller University of Pennsylvania krism@seas.upenn.edu
Katie Reuther University of Pennsylvania kreuther@seas.upenn.edu
Maureen Olejar Conrad Schools of Science
Melissa Jurist University of Delaware, College of Engineering mjurist@udel.edu
Elise Coletta University of Michigan colettae@umich.edu
Mari Collings The Perry Initiative collingsm@perryinitiative.org
Vikki Bandy Community Supporter
Gemma Buckley Community Supporter

 

Photo Archives

Check out our Facebook account for even more photos from the event!

dsc_0035

Picture 1 of 144

Video Archives

Check out our YouTube account for even more videos from the event!

Apr
12
Fri
2013
MSOP – Philadelphia, Pennsylvania @ Univ Pennsylvania Medical Center Campus
Apr 12 @ 9:00 pm – Apr 13 @ 12:00 am

General Information

Date: April 12, 2013 5 pm – 8 pm
Location: University of Pennsylvania Medical Center
Students: 29 students from 5 medical schools (UPenn, Jefferson, Temple, Penn State and NJUMD)
Event Sponsors: Ruth Jackson Orthopaedic Society

Workshops

Lectures Orthopaedics as a career for women: Dr. Lattanza
Pathway to becoming an orthopaedic surgeon: Dr. Hammoud
Fellowships and Subspecialties: Dr. Horstmann
Workshops (#11) Femoral IM Nail
(#8) Tibia Ex-Fix

 

Faculty

Name Affiliation
Helen Horstmann, MD University of Pennsylvania, Dept Orthopaedics
Sommer Hammoud, MD Thomas Jefferson University, Dept Orthopaedics
Lisa Lattanza, MD University of California San Francisco, Dept Orthopaedics
Jenni Buckley, PhD University of Delaware, Dept Mechanical Engineering

 

Volunteers

Name Affiliation Contact
Anne Colten, MD Private Practice orthosports31@gmail.com
Barbara Frieman, MD Rothman Institute barbara.frieman@rothmaninstitute.com
Julie Shaner, MD Thomas Jefferson University jlshaner@gmail.com
Mara Schenker, MD University of Pennsylvania, Medical School Mara.Schenker@uphs.upenn.edu
Amy Bucha University of Delaware, Dept Mechanical Engineering abucha@perryinitiative.org
Eli Gorman University of Delaware, Dept Mechanical Engineering eagorman@udel.edu
Kate Ordemann University of Delaware, Dept Mechanical Engineering kateko@udel.edu
Rebecca Runkle University of Delaware, Dept Mechanical Engineering rrunkle@udel.edu
Annie Biggs Sanger University of Delaware, Dept Biomedical Engineering absanger@udel.edu

 

Photo Archives

More photos available on The Perry Initiative’s Facebook page.