POP – Philadelphia, PA

When:
November 19, 2011 @ 9:00 am – 3:30 pm
2011-11-19T09:00:00-05:00
2011-11-19T15:30:00-05:00
Where:
University of Pennsylvania
Cost:
Free
Contact:
Manuela Restrepo

General Information

Date: November 19th, 2011, 9 am – 3:30 pm
Location: University of Pennsylvania, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Human Tissue Laboratory
Students: 34 students from 13 high schools in Pennsylvania, Maryland, New Jersey, and Delaware
Collaborators: University of Pennsylvania, University of Delaware, & Project Lead The Way
Event Sponsor: Stryker Corporation

Workshops

Morning Workshops (#2) Distal Tibia Fracture Repair
(#7) Suturing
(#4) Scoliosis
Afternoon Workshops (#8) Femur Ex-Fix
(#11) Design an IM Nail
(#6) Rotator Cuff Repair

Faculty

Name Affiliation
Helen Horstmann, MD Univ Pennsylvania, Dept Orthopaedic Surgery
Andrea Evenski, MD Univ Pennsylvania, Dept Orthopaedic Surgery
Jill Higginson, PhD University of Delaware, Depts Mech & Bioengineering
Jenni Buckley, PhD University of Delaware, Dept Mechanical Engineering
Laura Tosi, MD Children’s National Hospital

Volunteers

Name Affiliation Contact
Annie Biggs Sanger University of Delaware, Bioengineering, & Perry Initiative sangera@perryinitiative.org
Madison DeFrank University of Delaware, Bioengineering, & Perry Initiative defrankm@perryinitiative.org
Kris Miller University of Pennsylvania, Bioengineering krism@seas.upenn.edu
Katie Reuther University of Pennsylvania, Bioengineering kreuther@seas.upenn.edu
Eileen Crawford, MD University of Pennsylvania, Dept Orthopaedic Surgery
Nicole Belkin, MD University of Pennsylvania, Dept Orthopaedic Surgery
Mara Schenker, MD University of Pennsylvania, Dept Orthopaedic Surgery
Meghan Farrell University of Pennsylvania, Bioengineering  farrm@seas.upenn.edu
Elizabeth Beattie University of Pennsylvania, Mechanical Engineering  ebeattie@seas.upenn.edu
Makenzie Jackson EMT in training
Heather Doty, PhD University of Delaware, College of Engineering  hdoty@udel.edu
Melissa Jurist, MS University of Delaware, College of Engineering  mjurist@udel.edu

Photo Archives

More photos available on The Perry Initiative’s Facebook page.